Group 19 junior rugby league: Guyra hold annual presentation

Guyra junior rugby league gathered at the sporting complex on Saturday to celebrate another super year on and off-the-field with their annual presentation.

Club president Gina Lockyer thanked everyone for the year and highlighted the growth the junior Spuds have had.

This year saw the club register 130 players - 50 more than in 2018. The club also managed a premiership win with the under-12s bringing home the trophy.

In the perpetual trophy winners, Alysha Clark was named the clubperson of the year.

Cody Ford won the homegrown Spud award, with Oakey Brazier claiming the homegrown Spudette.

Under-10 player Mavric Foster received the Brazier Family Trophy.

Under-12 player Sam Surawski won the Andrew James Bull award.

The Guyra club also thanked their 2019 referees - Tom Lockyer, Josh Bell, Tayla Mitchell and Will Ritchie.

Team awards:


Coaches' award - Rave Brazier and Tommy Ryan

Most improved - Riley Melmeth

Best forward - Cooper Wilson

Players' player - Cooper Wilson

Best and fairest - Cooper Wilson

Best back - Ryan Williams

Senior league tag

Most improved - Claire Davidson

Highest point scorer - Rhylee Adams

Coaches award - Phoebe Kennedy

Commitment award - Selina Surawski

Best and fairest - Tayla Mitchell


'Tough as Nails' award - Gwenisha Landsborough

Most improved - James Grills

Coaches' award - Jamerikai Patterson

Best newcomer - Tyler Cameron

Players' player - Nayte Foster

Junior league tag

Most improved - Sophie Bezzant and Kayden Mulligan

Coaches' award - Peyton Heagney

Best and fairest - Bree Wilson


Bill Williams players' player - Tahmani Landsborough

Best and fairest - Tahmani Landsborough

Intermediate league tag

Encouragement award - Myah Wilson

Most improved - Kate Ward

Coaches' award - Lai-Lei Levy

Most consistent - Sophie Mitchell

Best and fairest - Akashia Brazier