Guyra’s sporting shorts

Junior Rugby League

Guyra Junior Rugby League wishes to advise that junior training will be at 4.30pm on Tuesdays until the end of the cricket season. 

After the completion of cricket, training will return to its normal Thursday afternoon time slot. 

Junior players also need to be registered as soon as possible to organise teams for the coming season and the Gordon Creighton Cup. 

Please visit to sign up. 

Guyra women’s golf

Black Mountain Nursery Trophy - stableford. 

On Wednesday, February 8, Wendy George won the trophy donated by Pam and Gordon Youman at the fabulous Black Mountain Nursery.

Wendy played superb golf to return a card showing 38 Stableford points.

Karen Oehlers put together a tidy round to be runner up with 37 Stableford points.

Nearest the pin on the 9th was won by Karen Oehlers.

Men’s golf

The Club Championships are in full swing.

Country Fresh Bakery sponsored the first round of the championships and the winner was T Brennan with a great 66 nett.

C Peardon was the runner-up on a countback from B Stanley and S Kliendienst, all scoring 69 nett.

The nearest the pins went to D Hill on the 7th, T Burey on the 10th and S Mendes on the 18th.

Fourways Service Centre sponsored the 2nd round of the championships and the winner was W McCowen on a countback from R Grills, both scored 70 nett.

Warren also won the Monthly Mug for February.

Nearest-the-pins went to B Stanley on the 7th, A Brennan on the 10th and C Peardon on the 18th.

A big thank you to our sponsors for their continued support.

Next weekend, Guyra Mechanical and Guyra Smash Repairs will sponsor Saturday's round and Kirks IGA will sponsor Sunday's round.

The overall scores are very close in all grades and any number of players have a chance to win. Good luck and good golfing to all.

Mid-week golf

The best performed team this week was the Guyra Greys with 64 points.

The Hillbillies scored 60 points and Plus Fours had 58 points.

The best individual score was 18 points by B Mcleod and J Ellis.

Seventeen points were scored by T Dittman, D Archibald, M Gaukroger and S Mendes.

Sixteen points were scored by D Lennon, R Moore, R Furze, D Smith, N Paine, R Walls,L Archer, D Wilcox, A Brennan and D Vidler.

Not long to go for the competition and the scores are close.